Home About Who We Are Team Services Startups Businesses Enterprise Case Studies Industries Commercial Real Estate Blog Guides Contact Connect with Us
Back to Guides
Enterprise Software 14 min read

The AI Workshop Procurement Checklist: 14 things to demand before you sign

The AI Workshop Procurement Checklist: 14 things to demand before you sign

You have a proposal in front of you and a date someone wants to hold. Before you sign it, there are fourteen things to pin down, and most AI workshop provider checklists skip the six that bind a vendor.

Search the phrase and you get two kinds of page. One set audits AI software: model benchmarks, red teaming, none of it relevant to a facilitated session. The other audits a personality, because it was written to help event planners book a keynote speaker.

Both skip the contract. What you own afterward, what you owe when the date slips, and whose account your client files get typed into are the terms that cost money, and nobody puts them on a list.

What an AI workshop provider checklist usually gets wrong

Almost every page ranking for this question was written by someone who sells workshops or keynotes. Each list is shaped so its author passes it, which is why they converge on the same eight soft items: show me the syllabus, name your credentials, give me references, tell me what is included.

Those are fine asks. None of them binds anyone. A vendor who answers all eight well can still move your date at two weeks’ notice, bill you the full fee, and keep the material built from your own documents.

So this list separates two things most pages blend. A demand is a term that belongs in the contract, where it binds. An ask is a thing worth knowing that no contract will hold. The twelve items under scope, people, and terms are demands. The last two are what you do before you sign.

Context for the budget talk: ATD’s 2026 State of the Industry report put direct learning spend at $846 per employee during 2025, down $408 from the year before, while formal learning hours rose to 16.7 from 13.7. Buyers are being asked to get more from less, which makes terms the lever rather than taste.

Scope: four things the contract has to name

1. The syllabus, module by module, with a last-updated date. Not a topic list. A running order with time against each block and the date the content last changed. A provider who cannot say when the material was revised is selling last year’s deck, and in this field last year is a long time.

2. Your documents, named, with an intake date. The difference between a session that transfers and a session people enjoy is whether the drills run on your own intake forms, client emails, and board decks. Get the intake date in the schedule, because design work that has not started three weeks out will not happen.

3. The room cap as a number. Public day rates all cap the room and price headcount above it as an add-on, so a quote without a stated cap is a quote that can be re-priced after you accept it. Write the number and write what the next head costs.

4. The artifact each person leaves with. One finished piece of real work per attendee, verified in the room, is the floor. Ask what it is for your team: a drafted report, a cleaned data set, a reusable prompt for a weekly task. A session whose output is a satisfaction survey has no acceptance criteria, which means it cannot fail.

Scope is where you decide what the session is for rather than what it covers, and the design choices that make a day change the following Monday are the ones to hold a vendor to.

People: who is in front of the room

5. The facilitator by name, with a substitution clause. “A senior consultant” is not a promise. Name the person, then agree in writing what happens if they are unavailable: your approval of the replacement, or a date change at no charge. Vendors cover themselves in one direction only: NobleProg’s terms let a client send substitute delegates at no charge, and say nothing about replacing the trainer.

6. Second-facilitator coverage above the cap. Hands-on work above roughly ten people needs a second pair of eyes, because the value sits in walking the room while people are stuck. Agree the threshold and who pays for it before the head count drifts up, as it always does once the invite goes out.

Keep both narrow at the contract stage. Screening the person in depth is a longer job, and practitioner background matters more than platform polish for this kind of hands-on AI training.

Terms: the six clauses nobody reads

This is the part no competing checklist covers, so here are two providers’ own public terms, read on October 22, 2026: NobleProg’s T&Cs and Certstaffix’s onsite and private class policies.

Term NobleProg, public T&Cs Certstaffix, onsite and private class policies
Cancel 31+ days out No penalty Refund minus non-refundable costs already incurred
Cancel 21–30 days out 50% of the course fee Refund minus non-refundable costs already incurred
Cancel 20 days or fewer 100% of the course fee Under 14 days: no refund, full fee due
Reschedule At the provider’s discretion One reschedule, after payment is received
Travel Not stated Buyer covers added travel costs after a late cancellation
Payment Within five working days of invoice, before the course Within 15 days of booking
Courseware IP Stays with the provider Not stated

7. The cancellation ladder in days and percentages. The point where walking away stops being free sits at 31 days with one provider and 14 with the other, a 17-day spread on the same purchase. Call a session off 15 days out and NobleProg’s ladder bills the full fee, while Certstaffix refunds what it has not already spent on airfare and courseware. Read the ladder, then ask what moves it.

8. The reschedule allowance, written down. One reschedule after payment is a real promise. “At our discretion” is not, and discretion is what you will be relying on, because in a company of 50 to 500 people something moves the date.

9. Travel as a visible line. Folded into a day rate, travel is invisible until it reappears as a pass-through on a date change. Certstaffix states both halves plainly: non-refundable costs come off a refund, and a late cancellation puts added travel on the buyer, which is the clause to copy. Whether you need travel at all depends on the format, and what on-site and remote delivery each genuinely deliver is a separate decision with its own costs.

10. Payment timing against delivery. Both providers above want money before the session. Fine, as long as something is tied to the far end: hold back a slice against the follow-up contact, or make the final invoice due after the post-session readout. Pay everything up front and the week after the workshop has no funding behind it.

11. Who owns the material afterward. The sharpest term in the contract, and almost nobody checks it: NobleProg’s terms state that all copyright and other intellectual property in material prepared before or during the course stays vested in the provider. Read that against item 2: you can pay for a day built on your own files and own none of the prompt library, exercises, or notes it produced. Demand an assignment, or a perpetual internal-use license naming the materials, your edits, and the recording.

12. Whose account the hands-on work happens in. A hands-on session means your staff typing real company material into a chat window, so ask which window. Anthropic’s published policy is that inputs and outputs from commercial products are not used to train its models by default, and OpenAI states the same for business data on its enterprise privacy page, while consumer tiers are a separate arrangement. So the demand is simple: drills run in your licensed workspace, not on a facilitator’s personal login, and no company files leave with the vendor.

Proof: how you will know it worked

13. The success measure, agreed before signing. Write down what has to be true in 90 days and who checks it. Usable measures are specific: a named weekly task done the new way by six people, one before-and-after work sample per team, or license usage in the tools the session covered. Satisfaction scores measure the catering.

14. One reference from a company your size, and the right question for it. Similar head count, similar function mix, and a session at least three months old. Then ask the reference one question: what is your team still doing differently? Everything else they tell you is about the day, and you are buying the month after it.

Item 13 also decides whether a single day is the right buy. Capability that has to survive a real work cycle needs repetition, and choosing between a half day and a full day first is easier to settle once a success measure exists.

The number worth negotiating

Twenty people out of their jobs for a working day is 160 person-hours. At a $60 loaded hourly cost, which is roughly a $95,000 salary once benefits are counted, that is $9,600 of payroll sitting beside an invoice that for an AI workshop for teams runs $2,000 to $15,000 at market rates.

So the invoice is the smaller half of the spend, and the only half that shows up in a budget line. Talking a vendor down $1,500 moves the total by a few percent. Cutting two hours of unproductive room time saves $2,400 and nobody has to argue about it.

That reorders the list. Items 2, 4, 11, and 13 protect the expensive half, because they decide whether 160 person-hours of AI enablement produce anything that outlives the day. The cost mechanics behind the quote itself are worked through in our breakdown of what a one-day session costs.

Running the checklist in one call

Send items 1 through 6 and 13 ahead of the call so the vendor arrives with answers. Items 7 through 12 are contract language, so ask for the standard terms document rather than a summary, and read the ladder yourself.

A good provider will have most of this ready and will push back on one or two items with a reason. A provider who treats the IP and account items as odd has not been asked them before, which tells you what their other clients signed.

If you want a second pair of eyes on a proposal already in hand, a free AI-readiness call will go through it against this list in about half an hour.

Frequently asked questions

What should I ask an AI workshop provider before signing?

Ask for seven things in writing and six in the contract. In writing: the module-by-module syllabus with a revision date, the intake date for your documents, the room cap and the per-head price above it, the artifact each attendee leaves with, the named facilitator, the second-facilitator threshold, and the 90-day success measure. In the contract: the cancellation ladder, the reschedule allowance, travel treatment, payment timing, material ownership, and which account the hands-on exercises run in.

Who owns the workshop materials after the session?

The provider, unless your contract says otherwise. NobleProg’s published terms keep all copyright and intellectual property in material prepared before or during a course vested in the provider, and that is a standard position in corporate training. If the session was built on your documents, demand either an assignment or a perpetual internal-use license covering the exercises, the prompt library, your team’s edits, and any recording.

What is a normal cancellation policy for a corporate AI workshop?

A tiered ladder tied to days before the start date. NobleProg charges nothing at 31 days or more, 50% at 21 to 30 days, and the full fee inside 20 days. Certstaffix refunds onsite bookings canceled more than 14 days out minus non-refundable costs already incurred, and refunds nothing inside 14 days. The cliff edge is what matters, because that is the week your date is most likely to move.

Can we reschedule an AI workshop if the date stops working?

Sometimes, and the wording decides it. One published policy allows a single reschedule once payment is received, with the buyer covering added travel. Another allows a move to another date at the provider’s discretion. Get a number of permitted moves and a notice period into the agreement rather than relying on goodwill.

Is it safe to use our real company documents in a workshop?

Yes, with two conditions in the contract. The drills run inside your own licensed workspace, and no files leave with the vendor. Anthropic publishes that commercial-product inputs and outputs are not used to train its models by default, and OpenAI says the same of business data, while consumer accounts work differently. The account the room is logged into is the whole question.

How do I compare two AI workshop quotes that are far apart?

Put both in the same units, then read the terms. Convert each to cost per person who will attend, confirm whether design hours against your documents are in scope, and check what each one does after the session. A low quote usually prices delivery only, and a high one adds design and a follow-up window, which is two products sold under one word.

Should an AI workshop include a follow-up session?

Treat one scheduled contact after the session as the floor. A single day reliably produces tool fluency and a verified artifact or two, and neither survives a busy month without a second pass. Tie part of the payment to that contact happening, or it is the first thing that quietly drops off the schedule.

What does a corporate AI workshop cost?

Market rates run about $2,000 to $15,000 depending on the room, the design work, and whether anything happens afterward. Listed rates sit at the low end because they cap the room and bill extra heads separately. The invoice is also the smaller half of what a day costs once payroll is counted.

Do we need an RFP for a single AI workshop?

Usually not. A one-page list built from the fourteen items here, sent to three providers, gets comparable answers without the overhead. Training Industry’s RFP guidelines earn their keep once the buy covers several cohorts.

Key takeaways

  • Most AI workshop checklists audit software or a speaker, not a purchase. The six contract terms below appear on none of them.
  • Separate demands from asks. A demand goes in the contract and binds; an ask is useful to know and enforces nothing.
  • Read the cancellation ladder before the syllabus. Two public policies sit 17 days apart on the date walking away stops being free, and one of them bills the whole fee inside 20 days.
  • Check material ownership against the custom design you are paying for. One provider’s standard terms keep all course IP, including material built before the session, with the provider.
  • Name the account the hands-on work happens in. Business and enterprise AI tiers do not train on your inputs by default, and a facilitator’s personal login is not one of them.
  • Negotiate the payroll, not the invoice. A 20-person day is 160 person-hours, about $9,600 at a $60 loaded rate, so two wasted hours cost more than most discounts save.

Pull the proposal up, run the fourteen items against it, and mark every one the document does not answer. A free AI-readiness call will turn that list of gaps into the asks to send back.

Last Updated: Oct 27, 2026

AW

Arthur Wandzel

SFAI Labs helps companies build AI-powered products that work. We focus on practical solutions, not hype.

Make your team fluent in AI — then automate what proves out

  • Hands-on training applied to your own documents and workflows
  • Often reimbursable through state small-business training programs
  • Built for 5–50 person firms with no IT department

Related articles